Town Manager Paul Bockelman announced new appointments to the Conservation Commission and the Board of License Commissioners  in memos to the Town Clerk dated April 17, 2020.  The appointees were recommended for approval by the full Town Council by unanimous vote of the Town Services and Outreach Committee (TSO) at its meeting on April 21.  The Town Council will likely vote on the appointments at its next meeting on April 27.

Conservation Commission
LeyRoy Gaynor was appointed to the Conservation Commission for a two-year term expiring June 30, 2020.  Bockelman provided the following biographical information on Gaynor: “Gaynor is a Massachusetts Certified Arborist who also attended the Stockbridge School at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. He has worked as a production arborist locally both for a large company and for himself. Mr. Gaynor has minimal experience in local government but brings a love of nature and commitment to the Town. He has shown interest in the Conservation Commission by reviewing matters before the Commission and reviewing sites under consideration.”

The Process Used for Appointments to the Conservation Commission
Bockelman assembled a team, consisting of himself,  Erin Jacque (the Town’s Wetlands Administrator), and Connie Kruger (of the Residents’ Advisory Committee), to interview all new candidates for appointment.  Bockelman’s practice is not to interview candidates for reappointment and not to reveal how many candidates have applied for a position.  

Board of License Commissioners
Dillon Maxfield was appointed to a two-year term expiring June 30, 2022.  Hallie Hughes was appointed to a three-year term expiring June 30, 2023.

Bockelman provided the following biographical information on the appointees:

Dillon Maxfield is an Information Technology specialist who has previous experience working in the bar and restaurant industry in Amherst. He brings familiarity with the day-to-day operations of the industry and recognizes the struggles and challenges of operating a small business. His knowledge of the actual workings of the hospitality field will add to the broad government and legal knowledge currently on the Board. 

Hallie Hughes is an original member of the Board of License Commissioners, having been appointed on January 7, 2019 for a one-year term. She is eager to be reappointed to continue the work she has been doing on the Board, including work on short-term rental licenses and retail marijuana establishments. She is trained as an attorney.”

The Process Used for Appointments to the Board of License Commissioners
Bockelman invited all who applied to interview for this Board, and assembled a team to conduct interviews comprised of himself, Douglas Slaughter (Chair of the Board of License Commissioners); Stephen McCarthy (staff to the Board of License Commissioners); Jim Pistrang (of the Residents Advisory Committee).  As has been his practice, Bockelman did not disclose how many people applied for positions on the board.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

The Amherst Indy welcomes your comment on this article. Comments must be signed with your real, full name & contact information; and must be factual and civil. See the Indy comment policy for more information.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.